Jury member: ABB

The fifth jury will be a member of the Neighborhood Association of Buritis (ABB), a non-profit organization founded in 1996 and always involved with the demands of the neighborhood residents. ABB publishes the local newspaper Folha Buritis, has an active website and promotes discussions about the region. "As a result of volunteer work and a lot of struggle, we have managed to prevent the construction of large enterprises that would bring damage and chaos to the region."

It is with pleasure that we present Bráulio Lara, the ABB current president who will be representing the neighborhood in the OT jury.

Associação Bairro Buritis

Folha do Buritis


published in Dec. 19, 2018, 9 a.m.

Jury member: Francisca Caporali

Annoucing the fourth member, now we present the artist, curator and educator Francisca Caporalli.

Francisca is the founder and artistic coordinator of JA.CA - Centro de Arte e Tecnologia since its inception in 2010. Through JA.CA, she coordinated several projects developed at the center: national and international art residencies, workshops, publications, exhibitions, and international collaborative projects, as well as developing author projects with other members of the collective.

Currently, JA.CA carries out two major projects: the CCBB Educational - Art and Education Program at the Banco do Brasil Cultural Centers in Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo; and Bolsa Pampulha 2018/2019, which will select, in early 2019, 10 artists who have an interest in processes and experiences in a collaborative environment. She joined the curatorial team of the two editions of the White Night BH in 2012 and 2014; and has collaborated with the Simbio exhibition project since 2012, signing the Artistic Direction of the last edition in 2016.

In 2016-2017 she was a professor at the UEMG School of Design; and in 2012-2016 he was a lecturer at the Guignard / UEMG School. Francisca holds a Master of Arts (MFA) Integrated Media Arts / Hunter College (New York, 2006-2010), and Audiovisual Communication for Interactive Media MECAD (Barcelona, 2003-2004).

JA.CA Center

CCBB Educational


published in Dec. 13, 2018, 9 a.m.

Jury member: Antonio Yemail

Next member: Antonio Yemail!

Antonio is a talented architect and industrial designer from the Javeriana University of Bogotá. Since 2007, he has been directing Yemail Arquitectura (formerly Oficina Informal), a studio focused on the research, design and production of cultural infrastructure and productive spaces, and experiments with different techniques and scales in the city.

He is co-editor of Archipelago de Arquitectura, and Teoria de Conjunto (Mesa Editores 2010 and 2016). His works have been published in several specialized magazines, such as Harvard Design Magazine, Arquitectura Viva and Proyecto Diseño, among others. Among the awards he received are those of the Ibero-American Biennial, the XX Biennial of Architecture in Quito, and the VIII BIAU. He was nominated for the Iakov Chernikhov International Award for Young Architects (2014), for the Rolex Mentor and Protegé Arts Initiative (2012), and the Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize 2014/2015. His work has already been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in Medellín (2009), the Architecture Museum of Buenos Aires (2009), the 12th Venice Biennale (2010), and at El Matadero, Madrid 2.0 (2014), among others.

Yemail Arquitectura


published in Dec. 8, 2018, 9 a.m.

Jury member: Eduardo de Jesus

Continuing the list of jurors of Outros Territorios, we now present, also very proudly, Eduardo de Jesus.

Eduardo holds a degree in Social Communication from PUC Minas, a Master in Communication from UFMG and a Doctor of Arts from ECA / USP. He was professor of the post-graduation program of the Faculty of Communication and Arts of PUC Minas; and was curator of the exhibitions Dense Local (Festival Transitio-MX, Mexico City, 2009), Esses Espaços (Belo Horizonte, 2010), SESC_Videobrasil Contemporary Art Festival (São Paulo, 2013), FIF-International Photography Festival (Belo Horizonte, 2013), among others.

Eduardo is currently a professor of the Department of Social Communication at UFMG. Last October, he launched the book Walter Zanini - Vanguards, dematerialization, technologies in art (Martins Fontes, 2018), an extensive research on this renowned curator (Zanini is one of the curators interviiewed by Hans Ulrich Obrist in his A brief history of curating).


published in Nov. 27, 2018, 8:16 a.m.

Jury member: Davide Sacconi

We will be presenting the jury members throughtout the Call, and the first one we proudly announce is Davide Sacconi.

Davide is an architect, curator and educator based in London where he is PhD candidate at the Architectural Association, Director of the Syracuse Architecture London Program and Visiting Lecturer at the Royal College of Art.

He is co-founder of CAMPO, a space for architecture in Rome for which he has organised several events, exhibitions and workshops, and edited the book The Supreme Achievement (2016).

As an independent curator he has worked for Storefront for Art and Architecture of New York and for the FRAC Centre of Orleans, for which he is preparing an exhibition on the Brazilian collective Arquitetura Nova to be showcased at the Biennale of Orleans 2019.

He is also editor of the books Interior Tales (2015) and Savage Architecture (2016), which comprise an exhibition showcased in several institutions in Europe including the Architectural Association in London, the Polytechnic in Milan and the CIVA foundation in Bruxelles.

Davide also worked for internationally renowned offices, such as IaN+ and MVRDV on a variety of architecture, landscape and urban design projects and awarded in national and international competition with his own projects.

Campo, Roma


published in Nov. 14, 2018, 2 p.m.